Massachusetts Auto Insurance Laws | The bank rate
In 2019, there was 140,470 car accidents reported by the Massachusetts Department of Transportation. Nearly 33,000 crashes have involved at least one injury and 323 people have been killed in car crashes across the state.
Massachusetts drivers are legally required to transport car insurance to protect themselves and other drivers. Understanding Massachusetts auto insurance laws is important to ensure you have adequate protection and meet minimum coverage requirements.
Auto Insurance Laws in Massachusetts
Massachusetts has several basic auto insurance laws. Whether you’re a current Massachusetts resident or moving to the state, it pays to familiarize yourself with the rules and your rights as a driver. Here are the auto insurance laws in Massachusetts:
- Drivers must purchase minimum coverage insurance: All Massachusetts drivers must have a minimum amount of liability and uninsured motorist coverage.
- Drivers must purchase no-fault insurance: Massachusetts is a no-fault state and drivers are required to purchase personal injury protection insurance (PIP).
- Drivers must have insurance before registering a vehicle: Massachusetts drivers must show proof of insurance in order to register their vehicle with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- Household members must be added to your policy: By law in the state of Massachusetts, all family members who live in your household must be listed on your auto insurance policy, even if they have their own insurance policy.
- You cannot be denied coverage for discriminatory reasons: In Massachusetts, insurance companies are not allowed to consider a driver’s credit rating, gender, marital status, education or income when calculating their policy premium. Age is still allowed to be used as a factor in the state.
- All drivers are entitled to auto insurance: If a Massachusetts driver is denied coverage from a preferred auto insurance provider, the driver can purchase insurance through the Massachusetts Auto Insurance Plan (MAIP).
Liability Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts Insurance Law states that all drivers must carry liability insurance and coverage for uninsured motorists. The Massachusetts minimum auto insurance requirements are:
- $ 20,000 Personal Injury Liability Coverage / Uninsured Bodily Injury Liability Coverage Per Person
- $ 40,000 Personal Injury Liability Coverage / Uninsured Accidental Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
- $ 5,000 liability coverage for accidental property damage
Drivers who opt for minimum coverage insurance will pay the lower insurance premium. However, settling for minimum coverage insurance is not always the best choice. Car accidents can be costly, and there can be no guarantee that liability insurance will be sufficient to cover the full cost of an accident.
For example, imagine you are driving through a storefront and causing $ 60,000 in property damage. With minimum coverage insurance, your policy would only cover $ 5,000 in losses. In this case, you would be responsible for paying the difference of $ 55,000 out of pocket.
Another thing to consider is that liability insurance does not include any protection for your vehicle. If you hit a deer or accidentally hit a neighbor’s mailbox, you would be responsible for paying for repairs to your vehicle.
Is Massachusetts a Flawless State?
Massachusetts is one of 12 states that follow no-fault auto insurance laws. In a no-fault condition, a driver’s insurer pays for his medical bills and lost wages after an accident, regardless of which driver caused the accident. The other 38 states follow fault insurance laws, under which the insurance company of the driver at fault pays the medical expenses of the other driver.
Since Massachusetts is a no-fault state, drivers are required to transport Protection against injuries (PIP) insurance. The PIP is the part of your auto insurance policy that will cover your medical expenses after an accident. The minimum PIP coverage in Massachusetts is $ 8,000 per person and $ 8,000 per accident, but drivers have the option of purchasing higher coverage limits.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Massachusetts
Driving without auto insurance in Massachusetts is illegal. If you are caught driving without insurance in Massachusetts, you will be subject to a fine and your license may be suspended for up to 60 days. For two or more offenses, you face higher fines, longer license suspensions, and potentially jail time.
Additional auto insurance coverage options in Massachusetts
Most drivers purchase coverage beyond Massachusetts auto insurance requirements. Purchasing additional coverage will increase your premium, but it provides a higher level of protection. Here are some popular policies available in Massachusetts:
- Collision insurance: Collision insurance will pay for repairs to your vehicle after an accident. The average cost of collision coverage in Massachusetts is approximately $ 427 per year.
- Back to back insurance : Comprehensive insurance will cover damage to the vehicle not caused by an accident – in other words, it covers things like theft, vandalism, flooding, or falling objects. Add comprehensive insurance to your policy costs $ 145 average in Massachusetts.
- Accident forgiveness: Your auto insurance premium will generally increase after an accident. However, adding accident cancellation coverage to your policy may prevent your rate from increasing after a minor accident.
- Gap insurance: Gap insurance is beneficial for drivers who have a leased or financed vehicle. If your car is destroyed in a covered accident, the gap insurance will pay the difference between the value of the car and the remaining loan balance.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company in Massachusetts?
There are dozens of auto insurance companies in Massachusetts, but the best company is different for every driver. For example, the best company for customer service might not be the best company for great rates. To find the best auto insurance company in Massachusetts, shop around and find a provider that offers the coverage you need at a good price.
What is the cheapest auto insurance in Massachusetts?
According to Bankrate research, two of the cheapest auto insurance companies in Massachusetts are Amica and Geico. However, you could pay more or less than the stated premiums we have drawn, as your actual auto insurance rate will be based on factors such as your age, zip code, driving record, and the type of car you are driving. drive. Remember, Massachusetts does not take your credit score or income into account when calculating your rate.
How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Massachusetts?
The average cost of auto insurance in Massachusetts is $ 1,183 for full coverage insurance and $ 397 for minimum coverage insurance. The average auto insurance premium in Massachusetts is significantly cheaper than the national average in the United States, which is $ 1,738 per year for a full coverage policy.